Safeguarding at East Leake Academy

The safety and well-being of our students is our absolute priority, and is taken very seriously at East Leake Academy. Together with providing exceptional pastoral care, we are proactive in ensuring all students have information and knowledge to keep them safe at the academy, online and methods for communicating if there are problems.

We recognise the importance of positive mental health and actively work with students to create an open dialogue about mental health and well-being. Our student counsellor works closely with the pastoral team to ensure that support is given to students who need it.

If you have any concerns about a student at our academy, or general questions about safeguarding, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Designated senior person for child protection
Mrs C Baxter cbaxter@eastleake-ac.org.uk

Designated deputy person for child protection
Mr B Francis bfrancis@eastleake-ac.org.uk

LA child protection contact/LADO  – 0115 8041272.

MASH (Multi-agency safeguarding hub) – 0300 500 80 90

Each of our pastoral leads are also safeguarding trained, so please do not hesitate to contact them if you have any concerns:

Mr Chambers – mchmabers@eastleake-ac.org.uk

Miss Aldridge – maldridge@eastleake-ac.org.uk

Mr Burrows – jburrows@eastleake-ac.org.uk

Mr Berry – cberry@eastleake-ac.org.uk

Miss Higgins – ehiggins@eastleake-ac.org.uk

Mrs Slack – pslack@eastleake-ac.org.uk

Online safety

We run regular PSHE sessions on online safety.

‘Digital Parenting’ is also a useful site for parents provided by Vodaphone. Visit the site at:
www.vodafone.com/content/digital-parenting.html

Safeguarding policy

East Leake Academy follow the Diverse Academies’ safeguarding policy, together with having our own local appendix which details all relevant contacts.