Membership of academy committee

All governors attend attend academy committee meetings.

Governor profiles

RoleMember name
Chair of GovernorsMarc Baker
Vice Chair of GovernorsRichard Osborn
Executive PrincipalDave Vernon
PrincipalBlake Francis
NameTypeAppointedEnd of termSpecific/additional role(s)
Marc BakerAppointed01/04/201831/03/2022Chair of Governors
Appointed from 04/07/2020 to 03/07/2021
Link governor: educational visits
Richard OsbornAppointed27/03/201726/03/2021Vice Chair of Governors
Appointed from 04/07/2020 to 04/07/2021
Link governor: parent/student engagement (including enrichment)
Amanda DziombakAppointed02/12/201901/12/2023Link governor: SEND/ disadvantaged/ CLA/ pupil premium
Jayne HadfieldParent02/12/201901/12/2023
David McGarryAppointed30/11/201929/11/2023Link governor: health and safety, GDPR
Nicholas McGowanAppointed12/11/201811/11/2022Link governor: safeguarding
Gareth RobertsAppointed08/02/202107/02/2025
Raj TugnetAppointed28/09/202027/09/2024Link governor: behaviour and attitudes (including anti-bullying)
Sharon WilsonParent02/12/201901/12/2023Link governor: careers
Jonathan BurrowsStaff22/05/202121/05/2025

Declarations of interest: pecuniary/business

NameNature of pecuniary/business interest declaredType of business
Marc BakerHM Inspectorate of ProbationsGovernment
Amanda DziombakContent Writer/ Progression Specialist/ ExaminerEducation
Jayne HadfieldGovernor Support Manager at Derby City Council
Governor Services Manager for Derby Diocese Academy Trust
Support for schools
David McGarryHR Director at British GypsumHuman resources
Nicholas McGowanChartered chemical engineer (self-employed)
Member of East Leake Parish Council
Renewable energy
Richard Osborn3D Visualist (self-employed)Technology
Gareth RobertsJustice of the Peace
Company Director at Teddy Edwards
Company Director at GAM Trustees Ltd
Charity Volunteer at Change Grow Live
Secretariat Communications member: All Party Parliamentary Group on Pension Scams
Clothing designers
Health and social care
Raj TugnetDirector of Commercial Strategy
Community Governor at Forest Lodge Academy (LEAD Trust)
Medical devices
Sharon WilsonEngineering Section Manager at Toyota Motor Manufacturing UK Ltd
Costock Parish Council member
Parish council
Jonathan BurrowsNo external business interests declared

Senior leaders who contribute

NameNature of pecuniary/business interest declaredType of business
Dave Vernon
Executive Principal
No external business interests declared-
Blake Francis
Wife has delivered training to Diverse Academies-
Tim Jackson
Vice Principal
No external business interests declared-
Clare Baxter
Assistant Principal
Sarah Benskin
Assistant Principal
OCR and AQA: Assistant Examiner (summer only)-
Robbie Jones
Assistant Principal
Victoria Purdy
Associate Assistant Principal
Tom Reid
Assistant Principal
No external business interests declared-
Esther Wilson
Assistant Principal


NameNature of pecuniary/business interest declaredType of business
Sarah Woodward
Business Manager (Operations)
No external business interests declared-
Andrea Hewitt
Clerk to the Academy Committee
No external business interests declared-

Members who resigned/end of term during previous 12 months

NameDate of appointmentDate of resignation/end
Professor John Dickens26/11/201625/11/2020

Attendance at meetings of academy committee

NameMeetingAttendance record
Academic year 2019/20
No. in year*
Attendance record
Academic year 2019/20
No. attended*
Marc BakerAcademy committee44
John DickensAcademy committee44
Simon GendersAcademy committee22
Jayne HadfieldAcademy committee43
Amanda DziombakAcademy committee44
David McGarryAcademy committee43
Nicholas McGowanAcademy committee43
Richard OsbornAcademy committee44
Sharon WilsonAcademy committee22
Helen ZaffareseAcademy committee44

*Academy Committee meetings were cancelled in March 2020 due to COVID-19, therefore 4 out of 7 meetings took place